chamber notes: how chambers of commerce can use social media

A little more about me: In 2008 I began working for a city magazine that’s owned by a chamber of commerce. I spent 6 months working in the editorial department and another 6 working in the ad department. Around the end of that year my uber cool boss, our VP of communications, presented me with an exciting and challenging opportunity: he gave me the chance to run our social media efforts. Sort of a write-your-job-description-as-you-go-along deal.

Of course, my first step was RESEARCH. Finding social media tips for magazines was fairly easy; for chambers of commerce, not so much. That’s why I’ve started this category, Chamber Music. I’ll talk about some of the things I’ve learned as a community manager for a chamber, and hopefully others will share their knowledge, too. With that in mind, here are a few ways chambers of commerce can utilize social media.

  • Publicize Events
  • Promote Members
  • Solicit Input
  • Generate Buzz for New Initiatives
  • Share Jobs
  • Build Relationships
  • Be a Cheerleader for Your City

I’ll elaborate more on these in the future, including which platforms work best for which efforts. If you use social media for your chamber’s communications, what are some of the things you use it for?

Leave a Reply

