from cyberdreams to reality: 9 questions for ::MIRRORCHECK::

Inspiration for those of you who want to quit your day job. (Note: I prepared this MONTHS ago, and good things have happened for Krystle since then! Be sure to check out her blog.)

–Who are you, and what do you do?
I’m Krystle Michelle a wardrobe stylist, and style blogger.

–How did you end up doing this?
I spent my senior year in college wondering if I had made the right career choice as a computer programmer. In my heart I knew that it was definitely the wrong choice. Even though I graduated from college with a bachelor’s degree and a job that provided me so much necessary security, I wasn’t as happy as I saw myself being. I asked my parents for guidance on what I should do and they told me I had two options: leave my job to pursue the happiness I longed for or stay and get over it. (lol) I worked for almost two years and left my corporate job. I felt like my passion for pursuing my dreams was being held back by the comfort of being secure. Since leaving my job, I’ve had the opportunity to gain more styling jobs and personal shopping clients.

–What social media platforms are you active on (blogs, Twitter, Facebook, etc.)? –Which has been the most useful for you, and how?
I use Blogger, Twitter, Facebook, and in the process of finding a way to use Tumblr effectively. These sites are the more general social media outlets that I use. I use Blogger for my style blog. Twitter has been the main avenue for promoting my Blogger site. There are other genre specific social media platforms that I use to promote myself in the fashion industry, those are Chictopia, IFB, and Model Mayhem. If I were to compare those to any of the more general social media sites, they would be similar to Facebook.

— Can you describe a specific instance where social media was instrumental in helping you achieve a certain goal?
I use Twitter all the time to find emerging fashion and accessory designers to feature and interview on my blog. Four of the interviews I’ve conducted have all come from an interaction on Twitter.

–What’s next for you/your brand?
I am working on building my styling portfolio. I would love to get in contact with all types of designers and complete more interviews on my blog. I also want to open an ecommerce store selling clothing as an extension of my style blog.

–What’s your dream project?
I’d love to get with an amazing creative team and gather fashion editorial submissions for magazines. I ulitmately want to have work published in Vogue Italia.

–Tell me about someone who’s social media presence you admire–an entrepreneur, a blogger, a brand, etc.–and what makes them great (and a link to them, of course!).
Unfortunately, no one comes to mind.

–Where can we find you on the Internets?
www.mirrorcheck.com and she’ll help you find my cyber existence 🙂

Leave a Reply

